h1

Thabiti Talks Manuscripts

May 20, 2009

“…I preach from a full manuscript. It’s nothing fancy, pretty much word-for-word what I intend to preach. Though that never happens. My main points are in bold, and sometimes sub-points as well. I underline the first sentence of each paragraph in red. If there is a cross-reference, I’ll either bold the reference in the text, or if it’s extended and I don’t want people to actually turn to it, I’ll include it as a block quote. I think I’m probably a better preacher with an outline rather than a manuscript, but I prefer a manuscript at this point for four reasons. One, I’m still learning to preach. I got a ways to go. Two, like Mike, I’m working on content and accuracy with the text. Three, I want people drawn to the content rather than to personality in the pulpit. Four, I don’t know that the Lord would ever be pleased to use my sermons beyond the local church I pastor. And I’m so thrilled to be a pastor, I won’t feel any loss if He doesn’t. But one of the tragedies of the African-American pulpit is that so few men have left any considerable manuscript evidence of their labors. Some of the greatest pulpit preachers in history are vaguely remembered but not studied. In case my labors may be of use to someone at some point, I don’t want to make the mistake of leaving little to nothing behind. So, I write–but not with an eye to someone else’s profit but for the profit of the people in my charge.”

(Thabiti Anyabwile,  read the whole article at 9marks blog)

Leave a comment