h1

Driscoll Delight

November 19, 2007

I was there on Friday night when Mark Driscoll preached on eleven aspects of the atonement in Edinburgh. Others have more fully recounted what was said (I didn’t realise Adrian Warnock was even there!). I simply want to say that I was greatly encouraged, and perhaps even a little surprised, at Mark’s whole approach. I say respectfully that there seems to be something of a maturing going on that may be quickly producing one of the most powerful preachers of our day.

markdriscoll.jpg

Another blogger sums up better than I can why it was so good.

1) He preached on 1 Corinthians 2.2 for about an hour and a half. I’m not sure exactly how long it was, but the time really flew by. I was stunned when I looked at my watch and realised how long he had spoken for.

2) His sermon had eleven points. (Jesus is our: substitutionary atonement, victor, redemption, new covenant sacrifice, justification, propitiation, expiation, ransom, example, reconciliation, revelation of God).

3) He was not in any sense embarassed or ashamed to preach theology. He always explained what the theological terms used were, and used that to magnify Jesus greatly.

4) He demonstrated very well just how much right doctrine (i.e. the gospel) is the only thing that can lead to right living.

5) He quoted extensively from various excellent theologians (Martin Luther, Don Carson, J.I. Packer…) and showed that he is clearly in touch with historical theology. He even referenced the Council of Chalcedon and the issue of the hypostatic union.

6) He openly stood for the truth with regards to penal substitutionary atonement. He was honest and open about how guys like Steve Chalke and Brian McClaren have strayed into heresy on this key doctrine. If only more Christians would follow Mark’s lead and actually stand for the gospel on this issue.

7) He was serious, engaging, provocative, interested and interesting, passionate and (at times) absolutely hilarious. He has a great gift as a communicator.

8 comments

  1. Hi Colin

    Sounds like it was great. Do you know if they’ll be producing the mp3’s for download for those of us in the South who would love to have been there but couldn’t make it?


  2. Hi Colin,

    Thanks for the link. Friday night was superb, it was such a privilege to be there.

    Your blog is impressive and very edifying. I’m the Assistant Minister at St Columba’s Free Church, and also listen to a lot of the same preachers as you. We should meet up some time, it would be good to talk in person.

    James


  3. Even over here in Colorado, I would love to hear his message. Thanks for the post, Colin.


  4. The event was hosted by Destiny church in Edinburgh (http://www.destinyedinburgh.com) and I believe they do plan to post mp3s though they’re not there yet.


  5. […] on the Atonement Driscoll on the Atonement – Colin offers his thoughts on Mark Driscoll’s sermon on The Atonement preached in Edinburgh […]


  6. Man, you coulda told us this was happening!!


  7. Dear brother in Christ,

    I am an Indian Christian based at Bangalore, India. UnashamedWorkman is on my blogroll. Thanks for the post “Driscoll Delight” I am all pumped up now after going through this and some related blogs on Mark Driscoll. I can’t wait to hear this message on atonement. I saw the comment about it being made into mp3 by Destiny Church. I wish if someone could send me an mp3 version of this message!

    God bless Mark’s ministry abundantly and bless millions through it. God bless you and your service too!

    Joji

    jojikaden@gmail.com


  8. I’m keeping my eyes peeled for the audio. I’ll let you know if/when it becomes available.



Leave a comment