h1

Prizing our Preparation

January 13, 2011

Bryan Croft is right.

We shouldn’t only love the act of preaching; we should appreciate the preparation process.  As Croft puts it:

There is something special about the hard, time-sensitive labor that is preparing to preach God’s Word in a few days.  It feeds and nourishes our own soul in a way that moves us to preach powerfully what we have found through intense study and prayer.

I would personally add that

  • my deepest insights into God, the gospel of His Son and the Spirit-filled life, have usually been gleaned whilst preparing to preach…
  • and my most earnest times of wrestling in prayer, have usually happened in the furnace of sermon preparation

I wouldn’t trade my sermon preparation for anything. For me, it has become part of my own discipling process.

Leave a Reply

