h1

Most Read Posts – #7

December 8, 2008
For some reason, you have been keen to access my personal info page. So here it is: number 7 in Unashamed Workman’s most read pages.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Who are you and where do you come from? My name is Colin Adams. I am married to a wonderful woman, Nicki, and have three children, Glen (5), Rebekah (3) and Grace (1). I originally hail from Glasgow but live ‘cross culturally’ in Scotland’s other big city, Edinburgh.

colin-and-nicki-jpg

What is your occupation? I have the privilege of serving as an Associate Pastor with Charlotte Baptist Chapel in Edinburgh. I have enjoyed fellowship with this church for almost six years. My responsibilities include regular preaching and some pastoral responsibilities with students. Before coming to Edinburgh I studied theology for four years at International Christian College in Glasgow.

What do you believe? Not less than the UCCF statement of faith, but in fuller terms, probably something more like the New Hampshire Baptist confession or the 1689 Baptist Confession of Faith. Most essentially: I believe in a personal, Triune, Creator God; a fallen humanity; a Christ who suffered for our sins, was raised to life, appeared to many witnesses and who will one day return to earth again. If all this is new to you, read this.

pulpit.jpg
(from whence I have the privilege to preach)

What are your hobbies?
Between church and family commitments I don’t have much time for hobbies! However, I’ve always been an avid reader and particularly enjoy reading about preaching, theology and church history. I also enjoy the odd sports spectacle and (in the warmer months) put myself through the grueling regimen of jogging!

Which preachers do you most appreciate? There are too many to mention. Amongst those living expositors I greatly respect would include Don Carson, Steve Lawson, Ray Ortlund Jr, John Piper, Tim Keller, Bryan Chapell, Alistair Begg, Philip Ryken, Dick Lucas, Vaughan Roberts, Mark Dever, Mike Bullmore, John MacArthur and CJ Mahaney. I’d also have to add the Senior Pastor of my own church, Peter Grainger, from whom I’ve learned a great deal. Of course, none of this is to mention some of the great preachers of church history: from Chrysostom to Calvin, from Spurgeon to Lloyd Jones.

Why this blog? There are several preaching-blogs that I already appreciate (see my links). Nonetheless there is still fairly little blogging being done relative to such an important task as preaching. I hope Unashamed Workman will help fill in this gap. Personally, this is a space for me to think through how I can be a “workman” who is not ashamed, one who “correctly handles the word of truth.” Let me underscore that I speak as a student and learner of preaching, not as a teacher and expert!

Can I be contacted? Feel free to communicate through the posts, or alternatively drop me an email: adams.colinandrew@yahoo.co.uk. I can’t promise to always respond but I do try.

Note: every day on the blog I post “Workman’s Toolbox” at the top right hand corner of the blog – links that may be of interest to preachers. Click here for the link to use with your blogreader.

Return to main page.

Whitefield’s prayer for preachers:

“Yea…that we shall see the great Head of the Church once more . . . raise up unto Himself certain young men whom He may use in this glorious employ. And what manner of men will they be? Men mighty in the Scriptures, their lives dominated by a sense of the greatness, the majesty and holiness of God, and their minds and hearts aglow with the great truths of the doctrines of grace. They will be men who have learned what it is to die to self, to human aims and personal ambitions; men who are willing to be ‘fools for Christ’s sake’, who will bear reproach and falsehood, who will labor and suffer, and whose supreme desire will be, not to gain earth’s accolades, but to win the Master’s approbation when they appear before His awesome judgment seat. They will be men who will preach with broken hearts and tear-filled eyes, and upon whose ministries God will grant an extraordinary effusion of the Holy Spirit, and who will witness ‘signs and wonders following’ in the transformation of multitudes of human lives.”

Leave a Reply

