h1

Sinners, We have a Friend

October 16, 2008

OK pastors, pull your heads out of the commentaries for five minutes and refresh your soul by listening to this. Remember that you were a sinner before you were a preacher. Remember that even today Jesus deeply loves you; not because of your graft but because of his grace.

Jesus, friend of sinners
Loved me ’ere I knew Him
Drew me with His cords of love
Tightly bound me to Him
’Round my heart still closely twined
The ties that none can sever
For I am His and He is mine
Forever and forever

Jesus, friend of sinners
A crown of thorns You wore for me
Bruised for my transgressions
Pierced for my iniquities
The wrath of God that I deserved
Was poured out on the Innocent
He took my place, my soul to save
Now I am His forever

Jesus, friend of sinners
I love to tell the story
Redeeming love has been my theme
And will be when in glory
Not death nor life nor anything
Can ever separate me
O love that will not let me go
Yes, I am His forever

3 comments

  1. Thanks for posting this, Colin. Can we listen even if we’re not pastors?🙂

    Btw — the track come from this CD, one of my favourite albums since it first came out.

    It would be great to get some of them into our repertoire.


  2. Hm. I prefer the original hymn words.


  3. @Jonathan – “…the original hymn words…”

    Which “original hymn words”?😉 Actually, I know the him you must be referring to. But I know at least four hymns/songs that begin with the line “Jesus Friend of Sinners” … and I love them all!



Leave a Reply

