h1

One Year of the Workman

December 12, 2007

12 months, 292 posts and countless reasons to give thanks. Today is officially the 1st birthday of Unashamed Workman (for the first post – see December 12th, 2006). To what age this babe of a blog will grow, I do not know. What I do know is that I can look back on this last year with thanks to God, appreciation to readers, and love to my long-suffering wife.

hammer1.jpg
(Photo by PPDigital, Creative Commons License)

On reassessing this one year period, there are five observations I would make:

1. Mainly pastors read the blog. Unashamed Workman has never been restricted to pastors (or lay preachers) but the content is certainly aimed at them. One hope in beginning the blog was to provide an oasis for pastors, somewhere to re-fuel for the task of preaching especially. That so many pastors seem to be reading is a delight to the author.

2. There is a hunger for encouragement in preaching. One reason I started this little venture was because I had scoured the blog-osphere for encouragement in exposition but turned up very little. The interest Unashamed Workman quickly generated suggested that many others felt the same. Though there is indeed a “famine in the land” (to quote Steve Lawson – and indeed Amos!) the demise of preaching can be unhelpfully exaggerated. Thankfully there is a remnant in the Western hemisphere and beyond commited to ‘letting texts talk’ (JI Packer). I pray this blog serves such people.

3. Few Unashamed Workman readers prefer to comment. If I went by comments alone I would have given up this blog long ago! OK that’s overdoing it. 749 comments is a reasonable return and helps me keep some track on how people are responding to posts. I’m guessing there may be two reasons for the low number of comments. First, the posts at UW aren’t designed to be particularly provocative. Sure, I’d like it if more people dropped comments, but I much prefer having a quieter comments section if that avoids the warzones one can find on other blogs. (Its interesting to note that the most comments on any one UW post was 32 when the issue was whether to use powerpoint.) Second, I guess that most pastors have little time to be posting comments! On and off as quickly as possible is no doubt the order of the day.

4. Sometimes less is more. In the initial months I blogged six days a week. This is a pretty volumous output for anyone, even if you have a ‘blog schedule.’ Dropping to five days, however, has helped me focus more on quality than just quantity. In addition, a less demanding output has made blogging more sustainable in what is otherwise a full and busy life.

5. God can do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine. All in all, my overwhelming feeling about Unashamed Workman is that God has used it surprisingly – far beyond my expecations. When the blog began I didn’t ask God for very much and my imagination of what might be achieved through it was very limited. Praise God he does more than our asking or imagining. I’m still amazed that around 400-500 people bother to stop by on a daily basis. Numbers aside, who knows what God can do in the life of reader through an article linked to, a talk recommended, or a post written?

For the glory of God,
Colin

December 12th, 2007

19 comments

  1. Happy birthday, UW!🙂

    Looking forward to many, many more — the Lord (and Nicki!) willing!


  2. Has it been a year already? I took a look at your clustr map and I think it is safe to say that God is using this blog to encourage pastors World Wide!

    May He continue to pour out his blessing on you and this ministry.

    Tim


  3. Happy one year anniversary!! Thanks for the quality resources you make available here…as one of the 400-500 I can testify that your materials are a real encouragement!
    God bless you,
    Andrew


  4. Happy anniversary, and keep up the excellent work. God bless you and your ministry.

    A non-pastor, first-time commenting reader,
    James


  5. Happy birthday!

    Keep up the good work – you will have no idea of the blessings your blog will heap on the saints scattered around the globe.


  6. Great work, Colin! Even though I just found your blog a month ago, I check it daily to read your thoughts and encouragement. Thank you very much!


  7. Happy birthday UW!
    Thanks for being so disciplined and commited to the task. What a blessing it is for me to have so much material available, because of your blog. Keep up the good work!
    And by the way, your passion for preaching is a great example and encouragement for me.


  8. Hey brother.
    I am a daily reader and this is the first time I have left a comment for you. I want you to be encouraged as I am quite certain I am not the only faithful reader who never posts. I love the blog. It has been a tremendous help and encouragement for me.
    May the Lord bless you this day.
    Ps 16:11


  9. Thanks for the encouragement and information you provide. As a pastor who recently returned to the pulpit after 10 years as a teacher, I am amazed by the resources like Unashamed Workman that are now available online. I have been blessed many times in the few months that I have been visiting your blog. God bless you!


  10. A brilliant blog, sets the standard for the rest of us, and always rewards a visit. As a pastor and preacher the 10 Questions feature has been particularly helpful. Keep them coming!


  11. Colin,
    Thanks for the work that you put into this blog. The various resources and links that you have gathered have been very helpful. I read this regularly. Thanks.


  12. Colin, I count myself among those readers who are doubly blessed: first through reading the contents of your blog during the week, and then witnessing how you’ve been applying it on Sundays. Happy birthday UW!


  13. Thanks for your blog Colin!
    As a young preacher I find it very useful indeed!


  14. Congratulations! (from a non-pastor / preacher)😀


  15. Colin,

    Thank you for the work you put into your blog. I certainly find it helpful and encouraging as I begin to prepare for ministry, and too, wrestle with thoughts on how to go about preaching God’s word. I’ve found your blog, links and insights/observations very helpful. Keep it up!


  16. Unashamed Workman,

    Happy birthday on the one year anniversary of the Unashamed Workman Thank you for providing the very encouraging, interesting, and helpful material that is always found on UW.

    Blessings.

    Bryan, Texas USA


  17. Hooray! Happy blog anniversary.


  18. Hi Colin, Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. Congratulations on your first anniversary!


  19. “For the glory of God” sums it up Colin. A fusion of head, heart and soul is a powerful combination.

    Happy Birthday UW.

    love
    Mum xx



Leave a Reply

