h1

Over 1500 Pastors Take ‘Preacher’s Pledge’

November 5, 2007

Isn’t this a sad reflection on the state of preaching today that pastors would even need to sign something like this?

I will make the Bible my primary resource in sermon preparation and preaching.

I may use other resources such as commentaries and web sites to enhance, not replace, my personal interaction with Scripture.

As I study I will strive to accurately understand and honestly apply God’s Word, allowing Him to uniquely proclaim His truth in a relevant way through me.

Here for the whole story.

2 comments

  1. You’re right. It reminds me of when denominations get excited after voting down homosexual pastors not realizing that it speaks volumes that they even have to vote. The fact that there is a need to get preachers to sign a pledge to “make the Bible my primary resource” (whatever that may mean) shows the sad state of the pulpit today.


  2. Amazing…in a way, not so surprising, though, when I’ve seen the word of man being placed above the Word of God so many times!!! The amount of Biblical illiteracy in many churches today is astounding. Those of us who have been blessed in finding a truly Bible-based church need to hold onto it for dear life.



Leave a Reply

