h1

Ask, Seek, Then Bang the Door

October 12, 2009

John MacArthur explains his preaching prep in terms of the ask, seek, and knock principle:

“I mean, I don’t just sit at my office and say, “Lord, I want to preach a great sermon Sunday. Please, I ask you, give me a great sermon.” No, what I do is I ask the Lord all week for that, and then I seek that by going through the Word of God and reading and reading. And then I begin banging on the Lord, in a sense, by saying, “Lord, I’m struggling with this thing and I want to understand it,” and this one this morning, which isn’t so hot, anyway, I rewrote three times. And on and on you go, struggling with it. But the point is, I realize that God is the only one who can produce through me, but at the same time, I’ve got to be involved in that.”

(from the sermon: “Loving people“; Matthew 7, 7-12)

One comment

  1. Hi Colin,

    Great quote from John Mac – very encouraging. Enjoying reading your blog, thanks for your thoughtful posts.

    Blessings,
    Andrew Roycroft



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

