h1

Most Read Posts – #5

December 9, 2008

A Friday Question – Visual Props? (March 2, 2007)

For some time, I have pondered the usefulness of visual aids in the context of preaching. Many churches already utilise the likes of Powerpoint for musical items, but increasingly it is used during the sermon. However, I’ve heard some (including no less than John Piper) express their displeasure at this approach. Some would say it creates something of a lecture feel; others, that it distracts from the ‘word’ being preached. I’m not so sure. In our church, many have found it a helpful complement when sensitively used. To see an example from a recent sermon, click here.

So what do you all think? Yay, or nay?

logo_powerpoint.jpg

3 comments

  1. Out of interest, I’ve added here the 32 comments from last time (Colin)
    ****************************************************

    I use PP primarily for images, as background for the sermon. Recently I preached on the parable of the mustard seed that became a tree in which the birds nest. I projected only a beautiful picture of a nest with Ma and Pa and baby birds during that part of the sermon. Several people commented on the impact of that picture. I will occasionally use it for projecting “points” or auxilliary texts I use.
    I think it helps keep the younger people looking.
    Danger is that it turns the sermon into a lecture.
    In general I find it a helpful medium, and I use it almost every Sunday.
    by Norman March 2, 2007 at 9:28 am edit comment
    #

    I agree with Piper here. Here are a few reasons why I refuse to use visual props while preaching:
    1. It takes a lot of time to design. This is time that I would rather spend preparing the acutal sermon and praying.
    2. You place yourself in dependence on the PP operator. If the person operating the slides is a little fast or a little slow, it just becomes distracting. For example, if the point you are about to make comes up a little too early, what you are trying to communicate becomes secondary and the words on the screen become primary (very few people can read and listen at the same time).
    3. What if you want to make a change to the wording or order of your outline just before or during preaching?

    A few other thoughts:
    I do think there could be an instance where having something on the screen could be helpful in understanding the text (which is the real issue).
    I am afraid what drives many preachers to use PP is that they don’t think people will listen if they don’t have some cool graphic displayed behind them.

    These are just my thoughts.
    by Justin Childers March 2, 2007 at 1:15 pm edit comment
    #

    As a sermon “consumer”, I am in agreement with Norman here.

    As a Powerpoint user in my employment, it is most effectively used when conveying tables, charts, graphs, etc. There is now a strong move away from Powerpoint in the business world, as it is viewed as a distraction. Putting bullet points on a screen does not help any presentation whether business or a sermon, it distracts and encourages the listener to watch, not listen.

    However, as the Bible is a history, Powerpoint should be perfect in explaining geography (maps), genealogies (family trees), or other similar ideas. As with most things, there is a time and a place, but they are not every sermon every week.

    Keep up the good work Colin, excellent site. I look forward to discussing it with you face to face!
    by PhilDog March 2, 2007 at 1:34 pm edit comment
    #

    I saw what you posted in your pdf file and that is about the same amount of powerpoint I use in my sermons. I use it to present additional scripture in my sermon. This helps the congregation to not be constantly flipping through the Bible and missing what I am saying. Also, I would use powerpoint to give my main outline points an additional punch and post quotations (particularly if they are long). But I don’t like too much powerpoint, because it can be too distracting for me when I preach. I want it to accent my sermon, not take away from it. Powerpoint has some use, but everything in moderation.
    by Bill Reichart March 2, 2007 at 1:47 pm edit comment
    #

    Put me in the “no props” category. I’ve sat through far too many sermons where the preacher clearly spent WAY more time on his slides than his preparation. Plus, I’m really tired of seeing a picture of Jim Caviezel with a crown on thorns on his head during sermons dealing with the crucifixion. That is the kind of visual distraction I neither want nor need!
    by Tim Challies March 2, 2007 at 2:00 pm edit comment
    #

    It might be worth me adding that I’m very fortunate in my church: there are dedicated individuals who make up the slides for me! PTL…
    by Colin Adams March 2, 2007 at 2:20 pm edit comment
    #

    Nay. I’m a firm believer in using PowerPoint and other visual aids for teaching, but not proclamation. In a culture surrounded by visual religion (viz., idolatry), the OT prophets proclaimed the Word of the Lord. The same was true of the early church. Throughout history as the church began to rely more and more on images (e.g., statues of the Virgin Mary), it drifted farther and farther away from the Word.
    by Milton Stanley March 2, 2007 at 2:59 pm edit comment
    #

    I use Powerpoint to display the main ideas of the sermon and to display a sequence of Scripture verses that, if we I just read them or if we had everyone turn to them, would take longer than I would like to spend. I also use it on occasion to display definitions, quotations, timelines, etc.

    I think Jesus’ own example in teaching shows that there was room for creativity without compromising the message. However, I also acknowledge that it is easy to abandon simplicity. I’ve tried to keep in mind that I need to make sure that the slide has a point to it, and is not just there as eye candy.
    by Peter Bogert March 2, 2007 at 3:29 pm edit comment
    #

    We started using Power Point here in our small Iowa church on a limited basis and have had a great response. We do not show our passage for that day to encourage parishioners to open their bibles, but I will show corresponding and supporting verses as well as main points.
    by Mark Jicinsky March 2, 2007 at 3:36 pm edit comment
    #

    I use PP to show graphics, not text (OK, rarely text). For example, when preaching on Jesus’ ministry around the Sea of Galilee, I showed a map of where he went and a photo of the area. I did that so that people would know that Jesus came to real people in a real place and did real stuff.

    I do not want my sermon to be a lecture and I do not want people to be frantically taking down notes as though there was going to be a final exam. What I’m aiming at, with the aid of the Holy Spirit, is an encounter with the Living God in his Word resulting in reformation, renewal, conversion etc.
    by Peter Foxwell March 2, 2007 at 3:54 pm edit comment
    #

    I’ve used these visual props in my messages for two months now, as our church recently purchased a ceiling-mounted projector, computer, etc. After I’ve finished my message preparation, hopefully by the end of Friday, I’m ready to add the visual on Saturday. I intended the visual to help the people remember the message, and it has, but I have been much more surprised to find that it helps me. It helps me in preparing a title, very often a question, that grabs attention. For example, our small community has recently been touched by tragedy, and many offered excuses on God’s behalf, saying he couldn’t have known or been in control and still be the God of love that we claim. So I asked the question, “How Much Does God Control?”, and the background visual to the title was two dice. Below that I posted Proverbs 16:33 – “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord.” People can instantly relate. I spend a lot of time in sermon preparation, but now I have forced myself to be more structured in my presentation. I have always flowed a logical flow of thought, of course, but now I have been forced to be even more clear because the points are there for all to see, and this doesn’t include the visual aspect at all, only the posted word.

    By the way, I rarely ever address what’s on the screen, in fact, I can’t even see it. My wife has my sermon manuscript with her in the back, and simply hits the space bar to change to the next point. The image is never flashy, overdone, or Hollywood-related; balance is definitely needed. One more point: the first week I spent almost all of Saturday working on the presentation. But as the weeks have gone by, the visual prep time has decreased signicantly, so that I can be finished in maybe a couple hours.

    I’ve been visiting your site every day, Colin, ever since you were Challies’ King of the Week. Great work. Thanks.
    by Mike Reynolds March 2, 2007 at 3:54 pm edit comment
    #

    We employ a very limited use of Powerpoint on Sundays–generally just a few slides that show the title of the sermon, the text, and perhaps a few points or the big idea of the sermon. I put exactly zero time into putting the slides together. On Saturdays I email my sermon manuscript to a fella in our church who then puts the slides together.

    I’ve found this limited, in the background, use of PP to be beneficial to our people and to not distract from the preached Word. I understand, though, many of the no PP comments here. Visuals can quickly get out of hand and distracting if one’s not careful.
    by Justin Buzzard March 2, 2007 at 4:03 pm edit comment
    #

    I think it comes down to “do you use it or does it use you?”

    As PhilDog said, it is very helpful for maps/geographies, esp for those of us who are geographically challenged. It’s also helpful for ancillary texts (that you don’t need the congregation to turn to) or shorter quotes, or just a point that you want to drive home.

    There are a good number of churches that are using PP just because it’s the “in” thing and PP drives the sermon, rather than the other way around. That may largely be what Piper, et al, have a problem with.

    In response to points that Justin Childers raised (not arguing with him, just raising some hopefully helpful stuff):

    1) Time — Pastors (like mine) need to have a geek (like me) to do the techie stuff for them.
    2) Dependence on operator — There are wireless devices that allow you to control slides remotely. Someone starts the presentation, and then you are in control. And I don’t think they’re expensive.
    3) Flexibility — If your geek is a former youth worker, he won’t freak out if you start skipping slides and such. ;-)
    by Brendt March 2, 2007 at 5:31 pm edit comment
    #

    I read somewhere a good reason to avoid PowerPoint. They said, and I think this is true, that when we put something on a screen in our overly entertainment oriented culture people can tend to move into a different mode that takes away from the preaching. They become disengaged from the sermon and simply become an observer and not a participant. This is not referring to back and forth participation but a sermon should be such that the listener becomes part of the proclamation so that they are not simply taking in information but are changed by the Holy Spirit during the process of being engaged in the message.

    So needless to say even though I have used PowerPoint in the past I am less likely to do so now. I guess there may be a reason to use it but if it is a regular mainstay of ones sermons I can see it may have its problems.
    by Tony Konvalin March 2, 2007 at 8:41 pm edit comment
    #

    I think that using PP for maps, or other such things can be helpful. Our church uses it for notices before the service and that is good too.

    I really dislike, though, having Bible verses on the screen, or photos. Already our congregation does not check in their Bibles (or even write the verse references down, as far as I can tell) to see if what is put on the screen and said from the pulpit is accurate. I think PP makes it worse; even those who would normally open their Bibles don’t now, because it’s all up there on the screen.

    I find the photos less than helpful and wonder if we really need all the entertaining pictures. I find PP a distraction to me personally but I could live with it. What worries me is how it lulls people into not checking out what is said, in their own Bibles.
    by Karen B March 2, 2007 at 9:58 pm edit comment
    #

    In the entire hoopla over Powerpoint, I notice that certain things continue to be overlooked. What about the use of Powerpoint cross-culturally?

    Take my own situation, for example. I preach in a Deaf church to Deaf people. Deaf people are primarily visual learners. It is infinitely easier to keep their attention and keep them in the flow of the message when the sermon (the outline, at least) is compiled in Powerpoint and the speaker can preach from such a medium.

    I tend to put the entire outline, including Scripture to be read, in a Powerpoint presentation. This saves a remarkable amount of time and frustration for both me and my congregation. When the Scripture is right there in front of them where they can follow along with me as I quote it, they are not having to open their Bibles, find the verse, read it, and then look back up at me. It is not unusual for me to have to wait several minutes for people to finish reading the Scripture from their Bibles. I’ve found that many Deaf tend to lose focus when they do that, and I’ve found that very often it causes me to lose my train of thought while I am waiting for them to finish reading. But if it is on the Powerpoint, they can immediately follow along as I sign the Scripture to them.

    Not only that, if you print out the sermon outline from Powerpoint, they can take it home and review the sermon for personal study. Many of my congregants love this, because it becomes easier for them to take notes during the sermon, write down questions they may have to ask me later, etc. And when they take the outline home, they are opening up their Bibles to read the Scripture against the outline.

    So I guess all this is to say that I find many of the complaints against Powerpoint to be completely unfounded, and sometimes even silly. All this hoopla over a certain methodology that actually drives the proclamation of Scripture.

    Of course, if we’re talking about flashy presentations, then we’ve got a legitimate argument.
    by Stephen Newell March 2, 2007 at 10:57 pm edit comment
    #

    Like others here, I use PP for images and main points. Too much text can be a pain.

    I like it for images…since we are an image driven society (logos, commercials, advertising) and a good image can drive a great point home.

    But…too much can be a great distraction.
    by Brandon March 2, 2007 at 11:10 pm edit comment
    #

    I wondering how long it will be before a church no longer uses a human preach at all? Rather, they just type the sermon into a computer and a robot preaches it without any faults or flaws – plus, it will have the added benefit of ‘bringing people in’.

    I was going to say I’m with Piper on this one, but I’ll stick with the Lord Jesus.

    A word to all of us who are preachers. If people aren’t listening or taking in the Word or are getting board with the norm, then do the following depending on the circumstances. Either:

    a) Get anointed with the Spirit and preach with passion and fire; or
    b) Continue to preach with passion and fire and stop thinking you have to appeal to the carnality in your congregation. If leave because you don’t use PP, their loss!

    Of course I recognise this is just my opinion.

    God bless!
    by Armen March 2, 2007 at 11:18 pm edit comment
    #

    A bit of an old school example but my dad used to use a sock puppet tongue for his most popular,( someone invited me to hold a meeting), sermon on the power of the tongue. Jesus had his own built in backgrounds all of his recorded sermons except one or two were in the out of doors. Who needs worchip slides on the shore of the lake of Galilee? It is impossible to distract this generation with too much visual simuli as long as it is saying what God told you to say, go for it!
    by markrmorris2 March 2, 2007 at 11:24 pm edit comment
    #

    Speaking as a consumer myself, I like getting the main points and the verse references (which is what my pastor does). I don’t need flashy changes, animations, or the like for a sermon – for a lesson series or a special speaker, they can enhance if done well, but not for regular use.

    I think that using this works best because people are getting the main points and scriptures two ways via audio and video. If you’re able to include even more senses (touch or smell), that can also help people remember the points of the message. Ideally, the best message would be the one that leaves people different than they were before they heard it – responding the way God wants us to.
    by Peter March 2, 2007 at 11:36 pm edit comment
    #

    Last year, at the PCA’s General Assembly, Pastor Randy Pope used PowerPoint during his sermon. It was flawlessly integrated and IMHO enhanced the preaching of the Word. I’m a visual person and I think that a combination of verbal and visual repetition can be helpful for folks like me. However, I do think that the visual aids should be used sparingly and with care. BTW, you can order the DVD here. It’s the best example I’ve seen yet of using technology in preaching. The message is worth hearing, too.

    I also recall my former youth pastor who once preached a sermon in which he pulled out a cereal box of “Instant Sanctification” as a prop. Not only was it funny, it stuck with me. It could have been overdone, sure, but it was the perfect serving.
    by Scott March 3, 2007 at 3:16 am edit comment
    #

    Wow, great discussion. Thanks for all the thoughts brothers. It’s a blessing to see everyone wrestle with this one, and really care about what would be most benefitial to the body. I just thought I would add a few thoughts.

    A book is to be read and a sermon is to be listened to. Our culture is changing, but there are things within the Christian sub-culture that do not nor should not change. I believe that the office of preaching is timeless and the method of preaching is as well. A preacher should have or should be striving for such a mastery of words that it would be second rate to use powerpoint to illustrate a point in a sermon. Are not the powers of language enough? Spurgeon and Lloyd-Jones would agree, and I’m sure Whitefield would as well. The use of projectors during a sermon is like an artist sub-contracting out his painting or a photographer asking someone else to display a good picture.

    Brothers, if God has called you to preach, He has surely gifted you with the ability to do better than a projector could. If not you say, then turn the projector off for a while for it could be weakening a already weak area for yourself. Like others have said, is it good to add a weapon to your arsenal that you cannot take with you? Is it possible to become a slave to the projector? If you are progressing through your sermon, pulling your hearers along by a thread, a detour to a powerpoint slide might just cut the cord you were pulling with so to speak.

    I think they are great for certain circumstances. The posting of the words for worship songs, or in teaching settings or the watching of short films or lectures or sermons.

    I love you brothers, and your hearts that are passionate about our Lord Jesus Christ. I would love to talk with any of you that has a question or comment about what I’ve written.
    Email roseburg@gmail.com
    by Ryan Finlay March 3, 2007 at 5:24 am edit comment
    #

    Thanks, as always, Colin for so much thought provoking and stimulating material on your blog. Although Ive got less time to focus on this side of things now that I’m fully back in harness as a Mission Director, I read your site regularly and always benefit from it. Allow me to comment on the issue of the use of PowerPoint.

    When I preached at Charlotte Chapel last autumn I used, as you know, a very simple outline with the headings of my sermon and only then because I didn’t have to operate the thing. Even this was a very rare thing for me to do and my general position is that I am not comfortable using it. My own Pastor, who is a great preacher, uses it carefully and effectively and I don’t want to criticise him or any other faithful servants of God’s Word. From my own point of view, I have a very practical reason why I don’t like using it- I get so involved in my preaching that I would forget to move the slide on! But I also have some concerns based on principles.

    If, as Phillips Brooks famously said, preaching is truth through personality, where does that leave the data projector? My fear is that too many preachers are communicating truth through technology and on several occasions I have witnessed the preacher was almost surplus to requirements because the vast majority of what he said was written on the slide. I became aware that I was not watching the preacher I was watching the screen and that really bothered me. I am convinced that the interaction and dynamic between preacher and congregation is a crucial ingredient of effective preaching and the PowerPoint is in danger of getting in the way. We could be just a few steps away from the virtual but absent preacher.

    Also, what happens when, prompted by the the Holy Spirit we go off at a tangent or focus on something we hadn’t originally planned to do? The PowerPoint then has the potential to be a hindrance rather than a help.

    I appreciate that we live in a visual age but does that necessarily mean we should pander to it? Our congregations need encouragement to be word focussed – both written and spoken. One of the sweetest sounds for me as a preacher is to hear the turning of the pages of the Bible as my listeners follow the Scripture reading, track the references and see for themselves what God has written in His Word. It’s just not the same on a screen and I fear we are discouraging people from being diligent students of God’s Word when they are engaged in listening to preaching.

    Let me make clear that I am a great fan of PowerPoint and use it frequently and regularly in my Mission leadership word and in other teaching contexts. But the ministry of God’s Word, especially on a Sunday, is more than teaching – it’s truth on fire and I for one find that hard to experience through the medium of a projected image.

    Again, I am not seeking to be critical of anyone who uses this medium. I just want us to think carefully through some of the issues involved.
    by John Brand March 3, 2007 at 10:44 am edit comment
    #

    Interesting reading the varied posts. In some ways this discussion has the same answer as which translation is best to use in preaching, whether or not we sing praise songs or just hymns, when you take the offering, whether you write your prayers, etc. It does bother me that there are those who feel that the use of a tool like powerpoint is akin to not being annointed by the Lord or not being dependent on the Spirit.

    I want my people to take notes. I want them to remember what we are learning. I encourage them to review their notes mid-week. That does not mean that the sermon is a lecture, but I’m not sure that some of the distinctions between preaching and teaching can be so finely made.
    by Peter Bogert March 3, 2007 at 3:09 pm edit comment
    #

    Yes, exactly. To equate the use of Powerpoint with a failure to depend on the Holy Spirit and His anointing is one of the exact reasons I say some of this resistance is silly. Let’s not make Powerpoint the new Resolution #5.
    by Stephen Newell March 3, 2007 at 5:09 pm edit comment
    #

    I think the research clearly shows that some people learn best be hearing, others by seeing, and others by touching. Assuming that we want people to Learn something during our sermons (notice, a person can learn something without it being a lecture) then we would want to communicate in a way that will benefit the most amount of people.

    Some people have expressed concerns and those are valid. Of course it is wrong for a pastor to spend more time on a “cool” ppt than on the content of his message. Of course we don’t need 82 slides. However, the fact that it has been used incorrectly does not mean we should abandon it altogether.

    For those opposed to powerpoints, I suppose I wonder if they are opposed to illustrations (verbal) in sermons. In an illustration, you attempt to paint a picture with your words that better illustrates your point. Just as visual illustrations can be abused, so can verbal illustrations. But I have never once heard of anybody who opposes powerpoint ALSO opposing verbal illustrations. It seems like the same principle should apply to both.

    In Christ alone,
    mike
    by Michael Garner March 4, 2007 at 1:29 am edit comment
    #

    I use powerpoint every week when I preach. It is not fancy. It is a very simple (usually stock) background that has sermon title, text location, and main points/ outline/ key thoughts. We also project the lyrics to our hymns on the screen. You know who loves it the most in our church? The SENIOR ADULTS! I know! I couldn’t believe it. However, many of them have a difficult time seeing their Bible/ hymn book or hearing what it being said. They are able to keep up with the service.

    Any technology, used poorly, is very bad (ever had to listen to a sound system squeal?). However, when used tastefully, tactfully, and moderately, it can be a great tool to help the congregation.
    by Noah March 4, 2007 at 3:41 am edit comment
    #

    Thoughts from a layman: My former church incorporated the use of PowerPoint increasingly over several years. I noted several results:

    1. As a good thing, no visitors need feel embarassed that they didn’t bring a Bible or know how to look up a passage.

    2. On the downside, the regular attenders found that they didn’t need to open (or even bring) their Bibles to the service. Once or twice the pastor commented from the pulpit that he still wanted those of us in attendance to open our Bibles while he read the passage (even though it was projected on the screen). But there really wasn’t a reason to open our Bibles anymore. (Unless I wanted to read the context of a verse being quoted or compare the translation on the screen from one I read from.)

    3. I found that the images (when photos, drawings or cartoons were displayed) were distracting to my concentration. I got to the point where I would intentionally close my eyes during parts of the sermon so I could pay attention to the message. (No, I was not napping.) Obviously, this point is very subjective and individual–others may find exactly the opposite.

    4. Typographical errors are also distracting. I’m sure the folks setting up the screens did their best, but they still happen. Again, some folks may not even notice these things.

    I don’t think I’m completely opposed to the PowerPoint slides. (I have no ill memories of the way my church used an overhead projector as I grew up during the ’70s, for example.) But the screen images at our former church got to be the focus of attention during the sermon, rather than the message. Maybe less is better? Or maybe the younger generation needs the visual images more than I do (I’m in my 40s).
    by Craig March 4, 2007 at 9:20 pm edit comment
    #

    My opinion is that, as with almost anything, if it is done well and presented by someone who knows what they are doing, it is a very effective tool in the day and age in which we live.
    by Andy Thompson March 6, 2007 at 8:22 pm edit comment
    #

    Recently I have begun putting up the Scriptures that I don’t ask the congregation to turn to during the sermon so they can see as well as hear the Word when I quote it. It has been very helpful for many. By the way, wasn’t the serpent on a pole in the wilderness a visual aid? One that the people best pay attention to. As of now I limit what I put on powerpoint to Scripture in the morning.

    Tom
    by Tom March 7, 2007 at 9:26 pm edit comment
    #

    A.W. Tozer explored some of this question in “The Menace of the Religious Movie.” Besides cinema, he addresses the visual arts as a whole and propounds the biblical directive and example for the spoken word.

    Milton Stanley’s remarks indicate he makes a distinction between the use of visual aides for teaching and proclamation. One might argue that Tozer’s case applies primarily to the method of proclamation of God’s word or those matters which are strictly spiritual, while its acceptance does not restrict opportunities in pedagogy.

    I suppose one’s view of Anthropology will cast visual aides in differing light. Tozer clearly distinguishes spiritual matters as spiritual, but today much of the church’s ministering in music is decidedly physical, and the teaching quite mentally and emotionally focused. The trichotomous anthropologists, who appear to be most popular on religious television, are attempting to appeal to every sense possible. Whereas the scriptures bear record that the spirit, soul, and body is neither disjointed nor incoherent (Romans 1:20).

    Obviously there are many other questions related to visual techniques and how well they are executed in education pertaining to their efficacy and effect.

    Besides these considerations, we observe that the ubiquitous video projector is fast becoming an indispensable accoutrement of materialistic churches. Besides numbering the congregants, one could easily compare some churches by the number and size of their projector screens or the number of lumens at which they are rated. Some churches have essentially simulated a movie theatre, engendering an entertainment theme. Is it any wonder that a number of them attempted to capitalize on their big screen investments by attempting to host Superbowl® parties? Other churches have instead shown a preference for a corporate conference room atmosphere where the theme is “empowerment of the self.”

    Let me conclude my commentary by spotlighting the biblical preeminence of street preaching. The practice was most instructive to Saul of Tarsus, though he may not have received the message until some time after subsequent events. The officious manner of Stephen’s sermon would have been severely mired by the unauthoritative use of PowerPoint.
    by Ben Maulis March 9, 2007 at 11:59 pm edit comment
    #

    Here’s the thing…we know that taking in information using at least two modes (aural, kinesthetic, visual) increases retention by a minimum of 40%. Since I believe the stuff we teach and preach is the most important information my listeners will get that week (if I’ve done my job right and God is blessing that message), I do whatever I can to help them “get it.”

    For the guy’s who said they’d rather spend the time on sermon prep than PP prep, they’re missing the point. PP prep IS sermon prep…again, HOW we learn. We learn more from using visual and aural than just one or the other.

    Finally, the PP person has to be included as a team member with me, the preacher. This increases the hands-on aspects of sermon design.

    So…PP is an essential part of my paradigm. Not just a toy or a tool.
    by Brian Baldwin August 14, 2007 at 9:51 pm edit comment


  2. I must admit that I’m not a fan of power point because I think it can take me off my focus if I’m not careful… but I do use it and here is why. I only use power point to post verses in full that I reference or quote during my sermon, or to highlight a main point that I am addressing That way they can see the verses as I read them and I don’t have to say “turn with me to…” every single time. I think it helps to get the point across and allows them to see the Word instead of the possibility of it flying over their head without recognition. Other than that though, I don’t do anything else with it. I think too much of it is a distraction or a cover …


  3. Here is an interesting research article about the usefulness of powerpoint:

    http://www.smh.com.au/news/technology/research-points-the-finger-at-powerpoint/2007/04/03/1175366240499.html



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

