h1

Books to Plunder

July 22, 2008

The house we were staying in during our time in London had a rich supply of Christian books. Though one week is hardly enough time to plunder any library, I was able to identify a number of books that I’d like to read more carefully in the future.

A Method For Prayer – Henry
Under the Unpredictable Plant - Peterson
Redeemer Church Planting Manual - Keller
Urban Ministry – Conn and Ortiz
Letters Along the Way – Carson and Woodbridge
Delighting in the Trinity – Chester
The Single Issue – Hsu
Feed my Sheep: A Passionate Plea for Preaching – Mohler and others
Preaching to a Shifting Culture – Gibson
Handbook of Church Discipline – Adams

Any more good books anyone has read recently and can recommend?

10 comments

  1. The Heart of a Servant Leader: Letters from Jack Miller. (C. John Miller, Presbyterian & Reformed Publishing, 2004)

    Not the Way It’s Supposed to Be: A Breviary of Sin. (Cornelius Plantinga Jr, Eerdmans/Apollos, 1995).


  2. “How People Change” by Timothy S. Lane and Paul David Tripp. The most life-altering book I have read in some time.


  3. Personal opinion, I’d shy away from Peterson. I found Under the Unpredictable Plant to be less than worth my time when I read it and when Peterson later compared The Shack to Pilgrim’s Progress I became all the less inclined to peruse his material.

    How about Piper, Brothers We Are Not Professionals?


  4. I love A Method for Prayer. That is a book I want to soak in. Pure Scripture.


  5. Columcille,

    I saw that endorsement by Peterson, and was sadly surprised. That said, I’ve found some of Peterson’s prior material (particularly for pastors) excellent. ‘Working the Angles’ is especially profitable.


  6. I just read Biblical Foundations for Baptist Churches: A Contemporary Ecclesiology by John S. Hammett. After finishing the internship at Capitol Hill Baptist Church this was a good read as I prepare to enter the senior pastorate. Even for non-baptists, this has a lot of good things to think on as a pastor/church member.


  7. I have just been away on holiday and have read “Total Church” by Steve Timmis and Tim Chester. This is well worth a read especially for those in the pastorate. There are several good suggestions about preaching and especially about the relationship between pastor and congregation. Parts are a bit controversial (see the wider Christian press) but it definitely made me think in a healthy way.


  8. and the Bible stand where?


  9. Can recommend (as above) “Heart of a servant leader” and “Brothers we are not professionals” … but what about CJ Mahaney “Humility : true greatness”, and D Carson “Call to Spiritual Reformation ” (learning from Paul’s prayers)


  10. Peterson’s Contemplative Pastor also did a little something for me.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

