h1

John Piper – ‘Who but Preachers’?

January 15, 2008

“Christian preachers, more than all others, should know that people are starving for God. If anyone in all the world should be able to say, ‘I have looked upon thee in the sanctuary, beholding thy power and glory,’ it is the herald of God.

Who but preachers will look out over the wasteland of secular culture and say, ‘Behold your God!’?

Who will tell the people that God is great and greatly to be praised?

Who will paint for them the landscape of God’s grandeur?

Who will remind them with tales of wonder that God has triumphed over every foe?

Who will cry out above every crisis, ‘Your God reigns!’?

Who will labour to find words that can carry the ‘gospel of the glory of the blessed God’?”

(John Piper, The Supremacy of God in Preaching, p 108-109)

NOTE: Tomorrow, Derek Thomas will be answering 10 Questions for Expositors.

2 comments

  1. Dear Colin

    I write to tell you that now you have a Brazilian reader. I found your blog “by chance” (ultimately by God’s providence!) and I appreciate it. I am a pastor in a city in the highlands of Southern Brazil. I thought you were American (I don’t know why) but I am glad to know you are Scottish (I think because I know many Americans but I never talked to an Scottish before…).
    I am married and I have two daughters. I undestand when you say you do not have time for hobbies!
    I am 38 years old. By the way, I thought you were older, but your picture shows your are younger than me! (at least you look like younger)
    I like to preach, although most times, after preaching, I feel weak and inadequate. But a couple days later I am willing to preach again. I like your blog because it inspires us and is very practical.

    God bless you and have a great year.

    Yours sincerely,
    Olavo Ribeiro


  2. [...] Unashamed Workman brought us this inspiring quote from John Piper: “Christian preachers, more than all others, should know that people are starving for God. If anyone in all the world should be able to say, ‘I have looked upon thee in the sanctuary, beholding thy power and glory,’ it is the herald of God. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

